Review: Looking for Alaska by John Green

December 3, 2008

book200Looking for Alaska by John Green is the story of Miles Halters’ (aka Pudge’s) search for a Great Perhaps.  He leaves home for boarding school, convinced this is the only way he’ll ever find one.  Once at boarding school, he begins a great journey of love, loss, and the eventuality of death. 

Looking for Alaskahas been raved about by many a reviewer, including the notoriously snarky Steph of Reviewer X.  Oddly enough, this made me wary of the book.  It can’t be that good can it?  I was prepared for disappointment (like Pudge in the first chapter).  Boy, am I glad I was wrong.  First of all, it had nothing to do with Alaska the state, which I was immensely grateful for due to the fact that I have read wintery, Eskimo stories, and to be frank, I disliked them.  I hated them.  I despised them.  But Looking for Alaska was amazing.  It’s one of those books you just can’t review without being fan-girly.  It had a wonderful plot, it kept you guessing (100 -something days til what?) and it dealt with characters and emotion very well.  If you are one of those people that dislikes a well-written book with an amazing plot and even better characters, I would not recommend this book.  But everyone else- go get it.  Now.  You will devour it.

Links: Author’s site, Book Nut’s slightly negative review,A TeenReads review, Em’s Bookshelf review,

One Response to “Review: Looking for Alaska by John Green”

  1. Steph Says:

    Oh god, I *loved* this one. (As I will attest to in any given opportunity :)) LOVED. Ya know, I might write my own review sometime because I think it’s interesting how some thought the book was pretentious or had trouble connecting to it. This was one of the best YA I’ve read to date. (That list is quite long, too, but not anywhere near as long as the list of books I’ve read in my lifetime!)

    Glad we have another fanatic on the bandwagon 😀

    Steph


Leave a Reply

